Friday, April 27, 2007

Found this on PW.org's forums

Some Markets & Resources for Writers of Literary Short Fiction

I. Too competitive for words:
Atlantic Monthly (C. Michael Curtis, fic. ed.) www.theatlantic.com
Harper’s (Ben Metcalf, literary ed.) www.harpers.org
Esquire (Adrienne Miller, literary ed.) http://www.esquire.com/about
GQ http://us.gq.com
Ms. www.msmagazine.com
The New Yorker (Deborah Treisman, fic. ed.) www.newyorker.com
Playboy (Christopher Napolitano) http://www.playboy.com/...tion-guidelines.html

II. Ultra Competitive:
DoubleTake www.doubletakemagazine.org/
Granta (Ian Jack, ed., London) www.granta.com/about/contacts
Glimmer Train, www.glimmertrain.com
McSweeny’s www.mcsweeneys.net/
The Oxford American (Southern writers/themes) www.oxfordamericanmag.com/
Paris Review (Brigid Hughes) http://parisreview.com/
Ploughshares (guest editors) www.pshares.org/index.cfm
The Sun (Sy Safransky, ed. www.thesunmagazine.org
The Threepenny Review (Wendy Lesser, ed) www.threepennyreview.com/
Tin House (Rob Spillman, ed.) http://tinhouse.com
Zoetrope www.all-story.com

III. Very very competitive:
Agni www.bu.edu/agni/
Antioch Review www.antioch.edu/review/
Boulevard www.richardburgin.com/boulevard.htm
Conjunctions www.conjunctions.com
Epoch www.arts.cornell.edu/english/epoch.html
Georgia Review www.uga.edu/garev/
Gettysburg Review www.gettysburg.edu/academics/gettysburg_review
Iowa Review www.uiowa.edu/%7Eiareview/mainpages/tirweb.html
Kenyon Review (Nancy Zafris, fic. ed.) www.kenyonreview.org
Michigan Quarterly Review www.umich.edu/~mqr/index.html
Missouri Review (Speer Morgan, ed.) www.missourireview.org/
New England Review http://cat.middlebury.edu/~nereview
North American Review www.webdelsol.com/NorthAmReview/NAR
Ontario Review www.ontarioreviewpress.com/review/home/hm_index.html
Prairie Schooner www.unl.edu/schooner/psmain.htm
Southern Review http://appl003.lsu.edu/...hernreview.nsf/index
Tri-Quarterly (Northwestern U) www.triquarterly.org/
Virginia Quarterly Review (Ted Genoways) www.virginia.edu/vqr/
Zyzzyva (West Coast writers; Howard Junker, ed.) www.zyzzyva.org/

IV. Darn Competitive
Alaska Quarterly Review http://aqr.uaa.alaska.edu/
Another Chicago Magazine www.anotherchicagomag.com/
Bellingham Review www.ac.wwu.edu/~bhreview/
Beloit Fiction Journal www.beloit.edu/~english/bfjournal.htm
Bellevue Literary Review www.blreview.org/
Black Warrior Review http://webdelsol.com/bwr/
Blue Mesa Review http://www.unm.edu/~bluemesa/
Chicago Review http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/review/
Boston Review www.bostonreview.net/aboutBR.html
Carolina Quarterly www.unc.edu/depts/cqonline/
Cimarron Review http://cimarronreview.okstate.edu/
Colorado Review www.coloradoreview.com/
Conjunctions www.conjunctions.com/njhome.htm
Cutbank www.umt.edu/cutbank/
Denver Quarterly www.denverquarterly.com/
Fiction (Mark Mirsky, ed) www.fictioninc.com/
Fiction International http://www-rohan.sdsu.edu/dept/press/fi/
Fiddlehead www.fiddlehead.ca/
Five Points (Ga. SU) www.webdelsol.com/Five_Points/
Greensboro Review www.uncg.edu/eng/mfa/review/review.htm Gulf Coast www.gulfcoastmag.org/index.html Harvard Rev http://hcl.harvard.edu/...tments/harvardreview
Hayden’s Ferry www.asu.edu/clas/pipercwcenter/publications/haydensferryreview
Indiana Review http://www.indiana.edu/~inreview/ir.html
The Journal www.cohums.ohio-state.edu/english/journals/the_journal/
Land Grant College Review www.land-grantcollegereview.com/index.php
Literal Latte www.literal-latte.com/
The Literary Review www.theliteraryreview.org/
Malahat Review http://web.uvic.ca/malahat/
Manoa www.hawaii.edu/mjournal/
The Massachusetts Review www.massreview.org/
Meridian www.engl.virginia.edu/meridian/
Mid-American Review www.bgsu.edu/studentlife/organizations/midamericanreview
New Orleans Review http://www.loyno.edu/~noreview/
Nimrod www.utulsa.edu/nimrod/
Open City www.opencity.org/main.html
Phoebe www.gmu.edu/pubs/phoebe/main.html
Puerto del Sol www.nmsu.edu/%7Epuerto/welcome.html
Quarterly West www.webdelsol.com/Quarterly_West Seattle Review http://depts.washington.edu/engl/seaview1.html
Sewanee Review www.sewanee.edu/sreview/home.html
Shenandoah http://shenandoah.wlu.edu/
Stand Magazine www.people.vcu.edu/~dlatane/stand.html
Swink (new, Leelila Strogov, ed.) www.swinkmag.com
Western Humanities Review www.hum.utah.edu/whr/
Witness www.occ.cc.mi.us/witness/ Yale Review www.yale.edu/yalereview/
V. Still plenty competitive
American Literary Review www.engl.unt.edu/alr/index.html
Ascent www.cord.edu/dept/english/ascent/
Crab Orchard Review www.siu.edu/~crborchd/
Crab Tree Review www.crabcreekreview.org/
Cream City Review www.uwm.edu/Dept/English/ccr/index2.html
Crescent Review www.crescentreview.org/
Florida Review www.flreview.com/
Global City Review http://webdelsol.com/globalcityreview/
Nebraska Review www.unomaha.edu/~fineart/wworkshop/submits.htm
New Letters www.newletters.org/
New Delta Review http://english.lsu.edu/journals/ndr
Ninth Letter www.ninthletter.com
North Dakota Quarterly www.und.nodak.edu/org/ndq/
Notre Dame Review www.nd.edu/~ndr/review.htm
Other Voices www.uic.edu/depts/engl/othervoices/index.html
Painted Bride Quarterly http://webdelsol.com/pbq/
Potomac Review www.montgomerycollege.edu/potomacreview/index.html
Small Spiral Notebook www.smallspiralnotebook.com/
South Carolina Review www.clemson.edu/caah/cedp/scrintro.htm
South Dakota Review www.usd.edu/sdreview/
Spinning Jenny www.blackdresspress.com/
Southeast Review www.english.fsu.edu/southeastreview/default.htm
Southwest Review www.southwestreview.org/
Sycamore Review www.sla.purdue.edu/academic/engl/sycamore/
Tampa Review http://tampareview.utampa.edu/
Third Coast www.wmich.edu/thirdcoast/
West Branch www.bucknell.edu/About_Bucknell/Publications/West_Branch/

VI. Web magazines (many paper mags also publish larger web versions.):
www.blackbird.vcu.edu; www.collectedstories.com; www.Nerve.com; www.pieriansprings.net; www.Pifmagazine.com; www.vestalreview.net; www.vorticalmag.com

VII. Selected contest (no entry fee):
Greensboro Review Literary Awards www.uncg.edu/eng/mfa/review/literary.htm
Algren Award (Chicago Trib.) www.chicagotribune.com/extras/comrel/literary.html

VIII. Contests for story collections (usually an entry fee):
Dru Heinz, U of Pittsburgh Press www.pitt.edu/~press/series/DrueHeinz.html
Flannery O’Connor Prize (U of Georgia Press)
G.S. Sharat Chandra Prize U of MO, KC www.umkc.edu/bkmk/poetry.html
Ohio State U Prize www.ohiostatepress.org/
Prairie Schooner Book Prize www.unl.edu/schooner/html/book%20series.html
Sarabande Books Mary McCarthy Prize www.sarabandebooks.org/contest/mary_mccarthy_prize.html
Sewanee Series www.sewaneewriters.org/series/
Storyline Press www.storylinepress.com/projects/threeoak.htm
U of Iowa Press www.uiowa.edu/%7Eiww/iowashortfiction.htm

IX. Resources
www.litline.org/links/
www.zuzu.com/
www.Webdelsol.com
Writing programs http://awpwriter.org/membership/schools.htm
Agents/publishers www.everyonewhosanyone.com/index.html

1 comment:

Waldo said...

FWIW, that lists Virginia Quarterly Review's URL as virginia.edu/vqr/. We've been at vqronline.org for at least three years now. So I'm not sure how up to date that ranking is.